History of ESCAP

The European Society for Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (ESCAP) evolved from the Union of European Paedopsychiatrists (UEP) which had its first meeting in October 1954 in Magglingen, Switzerland. At this meeting, Moritz Tramer (Switzerland) was elected President and Jakob Lutz (also Switzerland) managing president. Profs. Donner (Finland), Fontes (Portugal), Michaux (France), De Ruyter (Netherlands) and Sanctis (Italy) were elected vice-presidents. Dr Friedemann (Switzerland) was elected secretary-general.
The UEP held several conferences during the following years until its official foundation in September 1960 in Paris during the first congress of this organization which took place in Paris September 16th-19th 1960.
The organization changed its name twice: in 1982 into European Association for Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and after the congress in Lausanne (1983) into European Society for Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (ESCAP).

Congresses: Paris (1960), Rome (1963), Wiesbaden (1967), Stockholm (1971), Vienna (1975), Madrid (1979), Lausanne (1983), Varna (1987), London (1991), Utrecht (1995), Hamburg (1999), Paris (2003), Florence (2007), Budapest (2009), Helsinki (2011), Dublin (2013), Madrid (2015), Geneva (2017), Vienna (2019), Maastricht (2021). Please click on the links for more information.

ESCAP Online is searching for more details and stories about the ESCAP history. Please respond and add to this chapter.